Honors Convocation Committee Final Recommendations

To: Salisbury University Faculty Senate From: Honors Convocation Committee

Date: December 3, 2024

Re: Honors Convocation Committee final recommendations for future plans regarding the

Honors Convocation.

The Honors Convocation Committee met on 11/26/2024 in order to discuss feedback from the campus community and develop final recommendations for future plans regarding the Honors Convocation. The committee's final recommendations and rationale are included below:

- The university-wide Honors Convocation ceremony shall be discontinued. Individual departments, schools, or academic units shall be encouraged, but not required, to host events to recognize their award and scholarship recipients.
- The Honors Convocation booklet (renamed Academic Awards and Recognition) shall continue to be produced.
- The Honors Convocation Committee (renamed Academic Honors Committee) will review petitions for new awards to be included in the Academic Awards and Recognition booklet, and notify requesting departments of its decision.

Rationale for recommendations:

The committee requested feedback from the Office of the President, Provost's Office, students, and each School/College. Deans were asked to provide a summary of feedback from faculty, and the committee met with the Provost's Office and Deans' Council. Based on feedback collected from the campus community, there is no point-person, nor budget, to support a university-wide Honors Convocation. Hosting a university-wide ceremony would require additional time and effort from faculty and staff. Due to these budgetary and personnel limitations, the Honors Convocation can no longer be held. In order to recognize students, the Academic Awards and Recognition booklet will continue to be produced, and individual units will be encouraged to host events. Because the Honors Convocation will no longer be held, the committee recommends updating the committee name to "Academic Honors Committee."

Committee Members	Term (At-Large)
Moushumi Chakraborty	2023-2026
Robert Luttrell	2023-2026
Zachary Townsend (Chair)	2022-2025
Amanda Willey	2022-2025

Designated Senator: David Keifer